AUGUST 18: 1,164,041 Or How I Failed In Getting The Guinness World Book of Record Of Most Comments On a Facebook Post

Saturday August 18, 9pm
Free entrance

Jonas Lund presents: 1,164,041 Or How I Failed In Getting The Guinness World Book of Record
Of Most Comments On a Facebook Post

Jonas Lund: “The 24th of February this year I started a simple javascript to
automatically add a comment every other second to one Facebook post.
The idea was to let the script run until it reached a big enough
number of comments to be the most comments on a Facebook post in the
world.

The previous record was 1,001,552 comments and was held by a group of
women from the southern parts of the US. The 8th of June I had reached
a big enough number, one million, one hundred and sixty four thousand
and forty one comments, so I submitted my request to the Guinness
World Book of Records, attaching a collection of screenshots and
witness accounts to verify the authenticity of my accomplishments.

Eight weeks later the Guinness World Book of Records officials
replied; “Using automated scripts or bots are not in the spirit of a
Guinness World Records achievement.” – and consequently denied my
request to the world record.”

The exhibition at Barry will show new work in relation to the attempt
and the communication with the Guinness World Book of Records.

More information about the work of Jonas Lund here

